The badge, Madge

Yesterday, I was formally given my City of London Guiding badge. Well not quite. Actually I got my red, white and gold City badge a while back and yesterday was the “ceremony” where we get the certificate to show we have passed the course, and as it turned out we got another badge!

So at 3pm yesterday (Wednesday 7 October 2015), I and my fellow students went to the Mansion House in the City of London where we met the Lady Mayoress, Gilly Yarrow – her husband the Lord Mayor being on tour in South Africa.

Starting with tea and some very nice sandwiches, we then were presented with our certificates and also another badge, which is green and is the Institute of Tourist Guiding London badge.

Here is me getting my certificate from the Lady Mayoress, with the Course Director Trevor Jeans in the background (thanks to Karen for this picture)

photo (3)

Later here is me on my own, with a grand backdrop, but then pretty much everything is grand here (Karl took this one for me).

WP_20151007_15_29_14_Pro

And we had a group photo (Thanks Peter). Not sure why Emmanuel is praying…

IMG_0964

After some mingling (cue, shot of class mingling…)

WP_20151007_15_30_08_Pro

Then the Lady Mayoress treated us to a little tour of some bits of the Mansion House the public do not normally get to see, including the Lady Mayoress’s sitting room, and a couple of rather grand bedrooms. The one which the Lord Mayor and his wife use had a great big four poster bed on which their dog had taken up residence and was showing off to the assembled crowd (thanks again to Karen for the picture).

12096116_464119753767926_6698447398580577857_n

So we all had a lovely hour at the Mansion House with the very gracious Lady Mayoress. Then we repaired to the pub of course …

And here finally are both the “City” badges I can wear shown side by side.

IMG_5703

I am not sure I am going to bother with the Green City badge as no one will know what it is, and the City’s own badge is much nicer!

IMG_5708

Ah well back to guiding, and Walking London one Postcode at a Time … /https://londonpostcodewalks.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

